, Salem, MA

June 8, 2013

'Salem, your city, will always have your back' Salem High graduates class of 270

By Bethany Bray

---- — SALEM — Yesterday’s torrential rain could not dampen the excitement at Salem High School graduation.

Graduates, friends and family packed the high school field house for the 6 p.m. ceremony, where the Class of 2013, clad in bright red caps and gowns, cheered one another and hugged favorite staffers as they crossed the stage.

“You are the reason we look forward to coming to work every day,” Principal David Angeramo told the graduates.

Valedictorian Aidan Scrimgeour urged his classmates to take chances and make life an adventure.

“Let’s set new standards for ourselves and see what we can do,” Scrimgeour said. “Hold onto this excitement we have today, tomorrow and the rest of our lives.”

Salutatorian Celine Morneau read a poem she had written about their progression and growth through four years at Salem High. Class President William Parr urged his classmates to “above all, be fearless.”

“Never forget your past or where you came from,” said Mayor Kim Driscoll, who passed out diplomas with administrator Andrew Wulf. “Always keep marching forward and know that Salem, your city, will always have your back.”

The high school’s concert band and orchestra began the proceedings with Elgar’s “Pomp and Circumstance” march. A Jr. ROTC color guard presented the flag as a school vocal ensemble sang the National Anthem.

The peak of the excitement came at the end, however, when the graduates tossed their 270 caps into the air with shouts of glee.

Bethany Bray can be reached at and on Twitter @SalemNewsBB.

Class of 2013

Number of graduates: 270

Valedictorian: Aidan Scrimgeour

Salutatorian: Celine Morneau

Class president and recipient of the George F. McCabe Book Award: William Parr

Senior orator: Meryl Schultz

Class officers: Amanda Mazola, secretary;Hannah Morin, vice president; Evan Duy Le, treasurer

Andrews Scholars: Kimberly Barzola, Rhianna Jones, Evan Duy Le, Vanessa Le, Nathaniel Matula, Hannah Morin, Celine Morneau, Katherine Panneton, Tahmid Raji, Meryl Schultz, Aidan Scrimgeour and Ali Shebab