Today, the industries that once lined Franklin Street are gone. Without a doubt, the most interesting feature of the street today is Furlong Park, created in 1926 by the city as Franklin Street Playground, and later renamed in honor of William P. Furlong, a member of the Salem Fire Department and friend to the children of Salem.
It fronts the rehabilitated North River with a picturesque view of the condos (site of the former Parker Brothers) on the opposite shore.
Signs posted in the park outline the area’s history, industries and the parkland’s former use as a river dump site. Old bottles and leather trimmings can still be found there along the beach.