, Salem, MA

November 16, 2012

Peabody Hall of Fame banquet set for next Friday

The Salem News

---- — PEABODY — One week from tonight, 22 men and women will become the newest inductees into the Peabody High School Athletic Hall of Fame, Class of 2012.

These all-time Tanner greats will be introduced at Coley Lee Field on Thanksgiving morning before the football team’s annual holiday clash with Saugus. The honorees will then be inducted into the Peabody High School Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday, Nov. 23, during a gala banquet at the Danversport Yacht Club.

The inductees are:

Herbert Lawrence, a Salem News all-star in baseball who also captained the Peabody football team that won the 1919 North Shore League championship. He will be inducted posthumously.

William Crean: All-Star on the 1921 state championship football team.

Andrew Thain: 1950 multi-sport standout who went on to coach at the middle school level.

Anthony Ferreira: Member of the undefeated 1969 football team and big-time field event performer in track.

Chuck Tobey: Member of the undefeated 1969 football team and a monster rebounder in basketball.

Rich Kiley: Agganis football all-star and key basketball contributor from the early 1970s.

Bill Elwell: Standout golfer from the 1970s.

Matt Funchion: 1975 football captain who went on to play at Boston College.

Helder Braz: Three-season track standout, Hall of Famer at UMass Dartmouth.

Phil Mitchell: Excellent pitcher led Peabody to two Eastern Mass. Finals berths.

Sherri (Cove) Zerfoss: Three-sport standout played for the 1985 state championship girls basketball team and was an excellent hitter in softball and was GBL scoring champ in field hockey.

Kerry (Newhall) Heath: Three-sport standout excelled in girls basketball in the early 1990s.

Frank Candela: “The Flash,” Peabody’s all-time leading rusher in football and a baseball draftee. Parade All-American as a senior in 1997.

Michael Ring: Soccer goalie has 20 shutouts over two years.

James May: Two-way starter for the 1990 state championship football team and set a lacrosse record for points by a defender.

Molly Foster: Athletic trainer from 1992-2000 goes in as a dedicated contributor.

Jonathan Harris: Exceptional swimmer who scored more than 100 points in each of his four years.

Ted Grevelis: Football standout also set track records in the hurdles.

Monque (McHenry) Drumheller: Member of two GBL champion girls basketball teams.

Amy Nizwantowski: Class of 2002, field hockey standout.

Kevin Bettencourt: Class of 2002, 1,000 point club member, went on to lead NCAA tourney teams at Bucknell.


Tickets for the event at the Danversport Yacht Club next Friday are available at the Peabody High athletic director’s office or by calling 978-536-4752.