, Salem, MA

May 25, 2013

Beverly's Toomey, Danvers' Connors earn MVP honors

The Salem News

---- — Beverly senior pitcher/infielder Alex Toomey and Danvers second baseman Dan Connors earned Northeastern Conference baseball Most Valuable Players honors in the Large and Small divisions, as the league announced its annual all-star selections yesterday.

Toomey went 6-1 on the hill in the regular season for the Panthers and was also one of Beverly's top run-producing bats with nearly 30 RBI.

Connors, a staple at second the last three seasons for the NEC Small champion Falcons, was easily one of the best infielders in the conference and enjoyed a top-notch regular season at the plate as well.

NEC Large champion Peabody earned four all-star selections in senior third baseman George Tsonis, junior pitcher Andrew McLaughlin, senior second baseman Matt McIsaac and senior pitcher Pat Ruotolo.

Beverly's other all-stars, in addition to Toomey, were senior center fielder Harry Brown, senior outfielder Luke McDonald, senior shortstop Anthony DiOrio, senior infielder/pitcher Cam Rogers and junior first baseman Kevin Cuneo.

Also in the Large, Salem's Greg Speliotis (outfield), Ben Kapnis (pitcher/first base) and Cody Mercier (outfield) were named all-stars.

Beverly's Dave Wilbur was NEC Large Coach of the Year and the Sportsmanship Award went to Lynn English.

In the Small Division, the champion Falcons had four all-stars, in addition to Connors. They were unbeaten junior pitcher Brandon Hyde, junior Rafael Tylus, senior pitcher/outfielder Ray Arocho and senior outfielder A.J. Couto.

Swampscott had two players named all-stars: Boston College committed senior shortstop/pitcher Trevor Massey and sophomore catcher Ryan January. Marblehead's honorees were junior pitcher Brian Daly and senior shortstop Connor Green.

Danvers' Roger Day was NEC Small Coach of the Year and the Sportsmanship Award went to Marblehead.

The other Small all-stars were: Saugus' Dom DiPesa, Dante DelTorto, Peter Pulicari, Tom Trainor, Gloucester's Jason Vizena, Mark Horgan, Peter Clark, Alex Webb, Mike Muniz and Jardan Pallazola, and Winthrop's Brendan Van Dalinda.

Rounding out the Large all-stars were: Lynn English's Ben Bowden, Matt Merritt and Drew Gentile, Lynn Classical's Joe Rose, Jorge Perez, Kyle Devin, and Revere's John Papsadora and John Vanbuskirk.