, Salem, MA

March 14, 2014

Northeastern Conference girls and boys basketball all-star teams announced

By Gianna Addario
Staff Writer

---- — Peabody High senior captain Carolyn Scacchi was one of six players named to the Northeastern Conference’s All-Conference girls basketball team as the NEC announced its annual girls and boys all-star squads.

A three-year starter, Scacchi helped lead the Tanners to their first tournament victory since 2010 this winter. Scacchi averaged a double-double in the three seasons since entering the starting lineup and led the Tanners in both scoring and rebounding in each of those three seasons.

The NEC also recognized her Peabody teammates, senior Alex Lomasney and sophomore Sara Hosman, as leauge all-stars in the Large Division.

Other local NEC all-stars included Beverly High senior Bridget Keaton and freshman Natalie Mellinger, along with Salem sophomore Brianna Rodriguez.

Danvers’ Emily McNulty and Delaney Zecha were chosen as all-stars in the NEC Small. So were Marblehead’s Emily Freedland and Mia Bongirono and Swampscott’s Jacqueline Walsh.

Lynn English standout Catherine Stinson was voted NEC Player of the Year while her coach, Fred Hogan, who recently announced he was stepping down, took home Coach of the Year honors for the second season in a row.

The other members of the NEC All-Conference team includes Deidra Newson and Diondra Woumn of Lynn English, and Winthrop’s Ashelyn Babb and Kristen Siscamanis.

The NEC champion Bulldogs were also represented on the all-star team by senior Makayla Everett and freshman Devinya Robion. Revere’s Tiphani Harris and Lynn Classical’s Francesca Galeazzi were also selected by the conference.

In the NEC Small, Nina Bartlette, Theresa Jones and Niki Tsiotos of Winthrop and Jualianna Costanzo of Gloucester were also named all-stars.


As first reported in Thursday’s Salem News, Devan Harris of Danvers High shared Player of the Year honors with Lynn Classical’s Phil Rogers. In addition, Falcons’ head coach John Walsh was selected as Coach of the Year.

Beverly’s Jon Berchoff, Salem’s Jamie Dominguez, and Lynn English’s Fred Hogan and Erick Rosario joined Rogers and Harris on the All-Conference team.

The NEC boys all-star team was also broken up between the Large in South divisions.

Beverly’s Nick Cross and Chris Sinclair, Salem’s David Kazadi and Rashad Keys, and Peabody’s Brian Onessimo were among the locals selected to the Large all-stars. Jordan Brown, Kyle Doucette and Eddie Solis of Lynn Classical; Johnny Hilaire and Downy Lukanda of Lynn English and Revere’s Jason Siegal also made the all-star squad.

In the NEC Small, Danvers was represented by seniors Kieran Beck and Mark McCarthy as well as junior Peter Merry. Spenser Craig and Matt Millett of Marblehead, Swampscott’s Chad Nelson, Winthrop’s Cody Wasson and Gloucester’s Austin Davis and Drew Shairs rounded out the all-stars.