, Salem, MA


April 1, 2014

Danvers' Behen named NEC Wrestler of the Year

Danvers junior captain Chris Behen earned Wrestler of the Year honors as the Northeastern Conference recently announced its annual list of all-stars.

The league champion Falcons were led by Behen the entire season. Behen, who wrestles at 138 pounds, took second in the Division 3 North sectional and had his best performance at Division 3 states, where he placed second overall. He also become the second wrestler in program history to reach All-States.

Fellow Falcons Michael Neff (114 pounds), Chris Davis (120 lbs.), Dan Papagelis (132 lbs.), Quintin Holland (145 lbs.), Sam Anderson (152 lbs.) and Kyle Warren (160 lbs.) were chosen as conference all-stars, while Danvers head coach Mark DeCiccio was named NEC Coach of the Year.

Beverly had six of its wrestlers earn spots on the all-star team. They were Ahmad Alshrafi (113 lbs.), Jonah Feingold (120 lbs.), Mike Cirelli (126 lbs.), Joey Kozlowski (145 lbs.), Nick Shairs (160 lbs.) and Tom Wilbur (170 lbs.).

Peabody’s Jeremiah Manfra (182 lbs.), Joe Molica (220 lbs.) and Brandon Rapoza (285 lbs.) were also named to the all-star team, as was Marblehead/Swampscott’s Stephen Hopkins (106 lbs.) and Ali Atallah (182 lbs.), and Salem Joe Byors (195 lbs.).

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Sports Special
Sports podcasts
Northeast Sports
Comments Tracker
Sports Special