, Salem, MA


January 19, 2013

Beverly football celebrated at banquet


The boys were greeted by a standing ovation as they walked into the Harborview Ballroom for one final time as an undefeated team.

“This is tight group, we all clicked this year,” said senior Brian Perry. “We made a lot of memories on and off the field without a doubt. Undefeated certainly came as a surprise to everyone. It’s something we talked about and wanted to do, but some professional teams can’t go undefeated for an entire season.”

Each player received a mini Super Bowl trophy, commemorating the 28-21 victory over Natick in early December, along with several other items of memorabilia to remember the season by.

Awards were also handed out to certain players, including team MVP which was given to Brendan Flaherty for a superb season. Flaherty rushed for 1,496 yards and led the North Shore in scoring with 160 points.

“It’s such an amazing night,” said Annie Flaherty, Brendan’s mother. “This is a such a special night for a great group of kids to end the season this way.”

Other awards went to: Luke McDonald (Unsung Hero as voted by coaches and players), Ryan Shipp (Al Harrington Memorial Award), Dom Abate (Mickey Abate Memorial Award), Kenny Pierce (John Carratu Award), Mike Dooling (Myles McPheron Award), Isaiah White and Zack Duguid (McMahon Award), Matt Madden (Freshman Carratu Award), Brian Perry (Coaches Award) and Kevin Kennedy (Jon Kleemota Award).

Kicker Harry Brown was honored as Special Teams Player of the Year, Brian Tripoli and Joe Marciano were Demo Players of the Year, Mrebden mcGee received the sportsmanship award and Dooling was named Fred Bucci Outstanding Lineman.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Sports Special
Sports podcasts
Northeast Sports
Comments Tracker
Sports Special