, Salem, MA


February 21, 2013

Beverly's Irving, Swampscott's Massey named NEC hockey MVPs

Senior @text1:Andrew Irving@text1:, who helped guide Beverly High to its first Northeastern Conference hockey championship in 23 years, and Swampscott High standout two-way defenseman @text1:Trevor Massey@text1: were named the MVPs of the NEC North and South Divisions, respectively, as the conference announced its annual all-star teams.

Irving was joined on the NEC North All-Conference team by his cousin, fellow Panther forward @text1:Connor Irving@text1:, as well as @text1:Joe Strangie@text1: of Danvers; defensemen @text1:Nick Albano@text1: of Beverly and@text1: Chris Minter@text1: of Peabody; and goalies @text1:Tim Biarelli@text1: of Beverly and @text1:Ray Feeley@text1: of Winthrop.

The NEC South All-Conference team was comprised of forwards @text1:Trip Franzese @text1:of Marblehead, @text1:Corey Carmody @text1:of Swampscott and @text1:Ryan MacDonald @text1:of Lynn; defensemen @text1:Liam Gillis @text1:of Marblehead as well as Massey; and goalie @text1:John Papasodora @text1:of Revere.

Beverly High’s @text1:Bob Gilligan @text1:was chosen by his peers as the NEC North Coach of the Year. Marblehead’s @text1:Bob Jackson @text1:was honored with the NEC South Coach of the Year. Team Sportsmanship Awards went to Winthrop (North) and Revere (South).

The list of Northeastern Conference hockey all=stars by school are:

BEVERLY: @text1:Andrew Irving, Connor Irving, Graham Doherty, Nick Albano, Sean Munzing, Matt Hamor, Tim Biarelli.

DANVERS: @text1:Joe Strangie, A.J. Couto, Rob Buchanan, Adam Merry, Mike Disciullo, Alex Taylor.

PEABODY: @text1:Mike Valada, Derek DeMild, Chris Minter, Joe Powers.

WINTHROP: @text1:Jake McKinnon, Chris Page, Pierce Lamberton, Dave Capone, Stephen Goddard, Ray Feeley.

GLOUCESTER: @text1:Peter Mondello, Casey Noyes, Mike Muniz, Alex Webb.

SAUGUS: @text1:Anthony LoPresti, Anthony Cieri.

MARBLEHEAD: @text1:Tom Koopman, Ian Maag, Ty Bates, Trip Franzese, Liam Gillis, Zac Cuzner.

SWAMPSCOTT: @text1:Nunzio Morretti, Noah Maercklein, Trevor Massey, Chris Carman, Corey Carmody.

SALEM: @text1:Spencer Bergholtz, Brett Harring.

LYNN: @text1:Ryan McDonald, Kyle Devin, Brett Erelli.

REVERE: @text1:Brendon Mastropietro, John Papasodora.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Sports Special
Sports podcasts
Northeast Sports
Comments Tracker
Sports Special