, Salem, MA

November 30, 2012

NEC/CAL announce Tier 3 and 4 all-stars

The Salem News

---- — Hamilton-Wenham and Ipswich each had several players honored as the Northeaster Conference Cape Ann League conglomerate released its Tier 3 and 4 all-stars yesterday.

H-W senior quarterback Trevor Lyons was named a Tier 4 all-star, along with teammates Matt Vogus, a lineman, and Christian Ecker, a receiver and defensive back.

Ipswich had five players named to the all-star sqaud: Derek Chamberlain, John Elnagger, Mike Dillon, Matt Carey and Chris McCormack.

Earning honorable mention nods were H-W’s Nolan Wilson, Cam Macri and Pete Duval. For Ipswich, Peter Moutevelis, Henry Sacco, Kyle Barber and Mike Prine-Robbie.

The Tier 4 MVP went to Lynnfield’s D.J. Degeore, who leads his team into the Division 3A Super Bowl against Bishop Feehan on Saturday. Fellow Pioneer Andrew Kibarian was named Tier 4 Lineman of the Year and Lynnfield’s Neal Weidman was Coach of the Year.

Award winners in Tier 3, which includes Winthrop, Newburyport, Saugus, Pentucket, Amesbury and Triton were Amesbury’s Matt Talbot (MVP), Newburyport’s Dillon Guthro (Defensive Player of the Year), Pentucket’s Cody Rothwell (Offensive Player of the Year and Amesbury’s Thom Connors (Coach of the Year).