, Salem, MA


December 18, 2012

Newest Swampscott High Athletic Hall of Fame inductees are announced


Ken Richardson (Class of 1982) was a state champ in the 600 indoors for Class D and Eastern Mass. The 1982 NEC winter track MVP, he was also the Class C long jump champion, runner-up in the 440 and long jump, and holds Big Blue records in the 600, long jump, 4x400 relay and 4x110 relay.

Michelle Williams (Class of 1982) was an indoor track Class D champion in the 50-yard hurdles, as well as holding the Mass. State Coaches Association record in that same event. Undefeated in the NEC hurdles and relay, she was the Northern Area hurdle champ and school record holder in the 45-yard hurdles.

Bill Madden (Class of 1990) was a two-time Northeastern Conference MVP who received The Salem News’ Student-Athlete Award in 1990. Captain of the track, basketball and baseball teams, he went on to play football at Harvard despite never playing in high school, as well as baseball. He went on to become a captain in the United States Marine Corps’ Special Forces.

Britte Lombard (Class of 1995) was a four-year varsity tennis superstar with an overall regular season record of 69-3. The All-Scholastic was an NEC MVP, a Salem News all-star and also an all-star track performer.

Julianne Ferguson (Class of 2001) was a three-time NEC all-star in softball and was MVP of the Holland Tournament for three years as well. An NEC MVP, she also was MVP of the Agganis Game, was a Mass. State all-star and holds Big Blue records for strikeouts in a game (18) plus career wins, strikeouts and ERA.

Suzanne Settlemeyer coached field hockey, basketball, and winter and spring track at Swampscott. She guided the Big Blue to NEC winter and spring track titles from 1978 to 1981 and was a positive role model for all.

Peter Sack, the Swampscott High School principal from 1995-2003, was the football team’s public address announcer from 1976-2003. He was also president of the NEC twice (1989-90 and 1999-2000), won the 2002 Football Program Award for Dedication; the 2003 Hockey Program Award for Dedication; the 2003 Baseball Program Award for Dedication; and was part of the MIAA’s Football Committee from 1995-2003.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Sports Special
Sports podcasts
Northeast Sports
Comments Tracker
Sports Special