, Salem, MA


January 28, 2014

Monday's area roundup: Tanners pull through to split series with Fenwick



Bishop Fenwick 62, Marian 25: The Crusaders finished the regular season a perfect 7-0 as captain Linsey Andrews (50 free, 500 free), Carson Christuk (100 free, 100 breast) and Connor Cristuk (200-IM, 100 back) were all double-winners. Captain Steven LaRochelle won the 100 fly while Tom Delaney won the 200 free and all three Fenwick relays (200 medley, 200 free, 400 free) were victorious.

Masconomet 106, Lynnfield 77: Carly Soares, Michael Bartley and Alex Galarneau each won two events to help the Chieftains lock up the Cape Ann League title. Soares won the 200 free (2:00.81) and 500 free (5:16.98), Bartley captured the 100 fly (56.49) and 50 free (22.68), and Galarneau was first in the 200 IM (2:17.81) and 100 breast stroke (1:11.19). Lily Koenig added a victory in the 100 back (1:03.65) for Masco (7-0).


Masconomet 140.05, Gloucester 116.85: Captain Jess Demarco posted a 34.95 to win the all-around. She tied for first on vault with freshman Caitlin Calariva (9.1) and also captured the floor with a 9.5. Demarco was second on beam and bars. Calariva also won bars (8.6) for the Chieftains.Masco has a big showdown with Beverly on Friday night.


Beverly 67, Salem 21: The Panthers (6-0) won seven events to top the visiting Witches and sew up their third straight Northeastern Conference Large championship. Keely Higgins was among the winners, taking the 600 in 1:47.5 and Lexi Sutyak won the 2-mile in 12:42.8. Freshman Gracie Sparkman had a highlight second place in the shot, throwing 29-feet-9-inches, and Nora Monahan ran a 5:34.5 in the mile.

Peabody 64, Revere 22: Double-winner Rachel Barrett won the high jump and the hurdles to help the Tanners move to 6-1 on the season. Katie Gallo (33-2) won the shot put, Cynthia Aroke won the 300, Carrea Dean won the 600, MacKenzie Picardy won the 1000, Annie Pollack and Lauren Barrett led a sweep of the 2-mile.


Peabody 69, Revere 17: The undefeated Tanners (6-0) wrapped up another Northeastern Conference title by winning all but one event. Marcus Viera won the shot with a toss of 44-4 and Christian Cedullo (hurdles), Zach Gross (dash), Frantz Bain (300), Erico Cordeiro (600), Mike Ricci (1000), Alex Marcus (mile) and Manny Viera (2-mile) also won events.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Sports Special
Sports podcasts
Northeast Sports
Comments Tracker
Sports Special