, Salem, MA


October 16, 2012

Monday's area roundup: Masco boys soccer stays unbeaten


Amesbury 3, Ipswich 2: The Tigers drop to 5-4-5, but saw strong play from senior captain Molly Markos who had 14 saves and played one of the best games of her career. Maddie Howe and Lia Ziegler had the goals for Ipswich.

Saugus 1, Salem 0: Jaclyn Panneton and Alix Bryant played well for Salem (3-7).

St. Mary’s 1, Bishop Fenwick 0: Despite the loss, the Crusader (6-4-4) defense played a sound game led by Sam Borrelli, Gina Vellucci and Mary DiFilippo.


Beverly 5, Gloucester 1: Nicole Woods had three goals to lead the Panthers (12-1) to victory. Natalie Shea and Molly Pitman also added to the scoring with one goal each.

Lynnfield 4, Hamilton-Wenham 2: The Generals (3-7) took a 2-1 lead into halftime with goals from junior Sophia Zizza and Olivia Ambrose, but couldn’t contain Lynnfield’s offense in the second half.

Pingree 8, Lexington Christian 0: Allie Sardo had a goal and four assists and Jill Whitwicki scored two goals with an assist as the Highlanders improved to 8-4. Eliza Mead had a goal and an assist while Madeline Polese, Liz Jane, Caroline Winslow and Eli DiCiccio also scored.

Peabody 4, Everett 1: Joanne Frangias, Aly Bortone, Jenna Ferullo and Jill Sims scored in yesterday’s win to move the Tanners to 7-3-3. Defender Sabrina Rizzo was solid in the backfield.


Generals sweep: Hamilton-Wenham defeated Lynnfield (17-40) and Manchester Essex (17-38) in yesterday’s tri-meet. Matt Gillis placed first overall with a time of 17:50, followed by Jack Blatchford (18:10) and Mike Alara (18:10) to move the Generals to 6-3 overall.

Masconomet wins: The Chieftains finished up their regular season at 9-1 with wins over North Reading (17-44) and Amesbury (15-50) in yesterday’s tri-meet. The top three finishers for Masco ran the race together and finished with a time of 15:52, senior captain Jake Moorman, senior captain Jay Polakiewcz and junior Harry Kent.

Ipswich 15, Triton 48: The Tigers had the first five runners to cross the finish line in winner Michael Riddle (17:59) followed by Zach Angell (18:56), Michael Connor (19:02), Luke Sirois (19:03) and Conor Fitzpatrick (19:03).

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Sports Special
Sports podcasts
Northeast Sports
Comments Tracker
Sports Special