CHARLESTON, West Virginia — The West Virginia Legislature has approved legislation allowing residents 21 or older to carry a concealed gun without first obtaining a permit or undergoing training.
The measure, passed on a bipartisan vote Wednesday, now goes to Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin for his review. He vetoed a similar bill last year.
Most states require concealed carry permits.
West Virginians between the ages of 18 and 21 could receive a provisional concealed carry permit and would be required to undergo training on proper use of guns.
Passed on bipartisan votes by both the state Senate and the House of Delegates, the proposed law includes a $50 tax credit for residents trained to carry a deadly weapon.
Senate Majority Leader Mitch Carmichael, R-Jackson, said credit would cost the state $3 million.
The bill was opposed by the West Virginia Sheriffs Association and the West Virginia Association of Counties.
Pamela Pritt is a reporter for the Beckley, West Virginia, Register-Herald. Contact her at firstname.lastname@example.org.