May 21 is Election Day in Ipswich, Middleton and Boxford.

In Ipswich, there's a crowded race for two open seats on the Select Board.

Michael Dougherty, Tammy Jones, Kerry Mackin, Charles Pearce, David Wallace and Helen Weatherall are all on the ballot. Incumbents William Craft and Edward Rauscher are not seeking reelection.

On the School Committee, incumbent Charles Whitten and challengers Cole Desmond and Sara Gilliam are in the running for two available seats — Sarah Player isn't seeking a new term. That means one of the newcomers is guaranteed a seat. Meanwhile, Nicole Zito has announced she will step down from the committee in July as her family prepares to move out of the country.

Town Clerk Pamela Carakatsane, in response to a question about the process for filling the seat, pointed to state law that directs the town's selectmen to appoint a person to fill the vacancy until the next town election.

Also on the ballot Tuesday, Thomas Murphy is the lone candidate for another term as Town Moderator, and Richard Kallman is up for another term on the Housing Authority.

Voting is conducted at the Ipswich YMCA, 110 County Road. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.


There are two races in town: for selectman and Planning Board.

Incumbents Timothy Houten and Richard Kassiotis are seeking new terms on the Board of Selectmen, and face a challenge from Antonio Pesce. Meanwhile, Brian Carroll and Cheryl Leon-McCormick are vying for an open seat on the Planning Board. McCormick is currently an alternate member of the board.

There are no candidates on the ballot for town moderator or for an available seat on the Housing Authority. Constable Paul Armitage, light commissioner Charles Clinch III, and Flint Library trustee Melissa Stankus are uncontested for new terms. Toula Guarino is running for assessor, Natasha Bansfield and Jennifer Pesce seek two open seats on the Elementary School Committee, and Arete Pascucci is up for another term on the Masconomet Regional School Committee.

Polls are open Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the gym at the Fuller Meadow School, 143 South Main St.


The only contested race on the ballot Tuesday is for selectman, where incumbents Mary Anne Nay and Peter Perkins are seeking reelection with a challenge from Melissa Rodrigues-Silvestro.

For the Masconomet Regional School Committee, Bonnie Thornborough is running for an open seat. All the other races are uncontested: Town Clerk Robin Phelan, Boxford School Committee member Elizabeth Palmer, Board of Health member Alexander Constan, Board of Assessors member David Benson, Planning Board member John Adams, library trustee Jayne Smallman, and trust funds commissioner Bankson Riter Jr.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Town Hall, 7A Spofford Road.