Andreas named Player of the Year as NEC releases football all-star team

Danvers High School football captain Matt Andreas was named the Northeastern Conference North's Player of the Year. David Le/Staff file photo

Danvers High senior captain Matt Andreas, who led the area in rushing despite missing the last two-and-a-half games due to injury, was unanimously named the Northeastern Conference North's Player of the Year as the conference announced its annual All-Conference and all-star teams Wednesday afternoon.

Andreas, a running back who also lined up at quarterback while manning the Falcons' secondary, ran for 1,207 yards and 10 touchdowns while helping the Blue and White to a 9-2 campaign, tying for the most single-season wins in program history.

Four-time NEC North champion Marblehead, which at 11-0 is headed to Gillette Stadium in Foxborough Saturday for the Division 2A Super Bowl against Falmouth, placed a conference-high seven players on the NEC North All-Conference team. They were senior quarterback Drew Gally, junior linebacker Aidan Gillis, senior defensive back Justin Faia, junior wide receiver Derek Marino and senior captains Jaason Lopez at running back, Bo Millett as a two-way lineman and slot receiver/linebacker Harry Craig.

In addition, Marblehead's Jim Rudloff was named NEC North Coach of the Year, and Chris Lewis, also of the Magicians, was named Assistant Coach of the Year.

Beverly High, which won the Division 2 North championship and finished 9-3 this fall, had five seniors chosen as All-Conference. They were quarterback Kevin Morency, offensive lineman/inside linebacker Nick Shairs and captains Hugh Calice, a tight end and inside linebacker, running back/defensive back Kyle Chouinard, and split end/defensive back Sam Abate. The Pathers were also awarded with the NEC North Team Sportsmanship Award.

Danvers, which finished second in the NEC North, saw senior quarterback Dean Borders, senior end Kieran Moriarty and senior fullback/linebacker Quin Holland chosen to the All-Conference squad along with Andreas. Peabody High also had four All-Conference players in junior fullback/linebacker Eric DeMayo, senior captain Jake Doherty, a running back/wide receiver/linebacker; senior defensive end Cam Powers and junior defensive back Nolan Murphy.

Rounding out the NEC North All-Conference selections were Matt Lauria, Chase Buono and David Barnard of Lynn Classical, as well as Matt Severance and Frank Perry of Lynn English. 

In the NEC South, Salem saw four of its players earn All-Conference recognition: junior running back/defensive back Vinnie Gaskins, senior offensive lineman/linebacker Jackson Hanford, and captains Jared Lubas at quarterback and Xavier Cole at fullback/linebacker.

Swampscott was represented by three All-Conference picks: senior Sean Lahrizi, a wide receiver/cornerback/kicker; senior wide receiver/defensive back A.J. Venuti; and junior linebacker Dom Codispoti.

Other NEC South All-Conference choices included the South's Player of the Year, Gloucester running back Christian Sanfilippo, as well as his Fishermen teammates Ryan Gabriele, Kyle Aquipel, Nate Young, Jacob Russell, Eric Cameron and Chris Cassettari; Winthrop's Chris Zuffante and Calvin Tufa; Victor Rivera, Oscar Lopez, Ed Sullivan, Anthony DeStefano, Frank Sims and Badr Haou of Revere; and Dan Pisaturo and Cam Williamson of Saugus (which won the South's Team Sportsmanship Award).

Revere's Lou Ciccatelli, a Boxford resident, was named NEC South Coach of the Year.

There were also NEC all-stars chosen for each team: They were Sam Paquette and Sam Frontero (Marblehead), Johnny Jones and Tommy Adams (Beverly), Mike Daras and Kyle Purcell (Danvers), Cedric Gutierrez and Patrick Maguire (Peabody), Nathan Estes and Jeffrey Rodriguez (Salem), Liam Faulkner (Swampscott), Dennis Pierce (Lynn Classical), Jacob Miller (Lynn English), Daimon Brown, Jermaine Edward and Ollie Emerson (Gloucester), John Desimone, Jimmy Kioussis and Gabe Martinez (Revere) and Nick Ferrari (Saugus).

Trending Video

Recommended for you