Beverly, Peabody get two players each on NEC All-Conference softball squad

JAIME CAMPOS/Staff photoBeverly High senior pitching star Rona Scott was one of two Panthers chosen for this season's Northeastern Conference's All-Conference softball team. 

Eight of the best high school softball players from The Salem News readership area earned All-Conference Accolades as the Northeastern Conference announced its annual all-star teams.

Senior pitcher Rona Scott and slugger Julia Pitman, a senior shortstop, of Beverly High were both honored, as were a pair of fellow senior standouts from Peabody High in pitcher Tiana Dawe and catcher Kristina Rosignoll

One of the few sophomores selected as All-Conference was Salem High's Christin Napierkowski, a pitching star for the Witches. 

Danvers senior pitching ace Alexcea Glynos was also chosen All-Conference, as was Marblehead senior hurler Charlotte Plakans and Swampscott senior shortstop Kate Watts.

Other All-Conference picks included seniors Elizabeth Schuster, Tracy Wood and NEC North Player of the Year Sydney McKay of Gloucester; junior Caitlyn Wood of Saugus; seniors Rebecca Walker and Kayla Morrill as well as sophomore Brooke Warren of Lynn Classical; junior Julia Chen of Lynn English; seniors Carmen DiOrio and NEC South Player of the Year Brenna Forbes of Medford; senior Kaylee Nearen of Everett; sophomore Alexis Iacoviello of Revere; sophomore Sara Whitehouse of Malden; and junior Noralee Hawkins of Somerville.

Locals chosen to the Northeastern Conference all-star team were senior second baseman Natalie Stilwell and senior outfielder Melanie Mason of Beverly; senior outfielder MacKenzie Marmion and junior third baseman Makayla Rooney of Peabody; senior catcher Kayla Robinson and sophomore shortstop Brooke Grassia of Danvers; senior center fielder Rosa Vidal of Salem; senior shortstop Mercedez Pelletier of Marblehead; and freshman catcher Chloe Rakauskas of Swampscott.

The remainder of the all-stars included senior Jemima Grow, junior Madison Machado and sophomore Ella Marshall of Gloucester; senior Emma Howard of Saugus; senior Bella Perrotti of Winthrop; junior Amanda Wilkins, senior Madison Dana and junior Kiara Edmonds of Lynn Classical; junior Julianna Perry of Lynn English; senior Mya Winslow, junior Emma McGlynn and senior MaKenzie Eisnor of Medford; freshman Lissette Curran of Malden; and junior Madison Dufaes of Everett.

John-John Nicastro of Gloucester and Jack Dempsey of Medford won the NEC Coach of the Year Awards, with Saugus and Revere capturing the Team Sportsmanship Awards.