Prep's Crowley honored by ANEFO as its Player of the Year

St. John's Prep quarterback Matt Crowley (center), who has guided his Eagles to the Division 1 Super Bowl for a second consecutive season, was honored by the Association of New England Football Officials (ANEFO) last night with its Presidents Award as its Player of the Year Monday night at the Irish American Club in Malden. He’s flanked by ANEFO president Brian Doherty (left) and St. John's Prep head football coach Brian St. Pierre. 

MALDEN — St. John's Prep Super Bowl quarterback Matt Crowley was honored as the President's Memorial Award winner at the annual banquet of the Association of New England Football Officials on Monday night.

Fresh off punching a second straight trip to Gillette Stadium for the defending Division 1 champion Eagles, Crowley was chosen from among many talented players in the North of Boston region.

"Matt embodies all the qualities you want — he's team first, he's active in the community and with his family and friends. He loves football, but he's about so much more than that," said Prep head coach Brian St. Pierre. "He's a super, super competitor."

Having throwing for 15 touchdown passes with an entirely new cast of receivers, Crowley has set career St. John's Prep records in total passing yardage and touchdowns. He and the Eagles host Xaverian on Thanksgiving Day at Glatz Field (10:15 a.m.), then take on Catholic Memorial at Gillette Stadium on Dec. 7 (8 p.m.) in a rematch of last season's championship tilt.

"Football is the ultimate team sport and I certainly wouldn't be here without the support and hard work of my teammates. This reflects on all of us," said Crowley, who thanked all his coaches, his parents and his brother Scott.

The annual gathering at the Irish American Club in Malden fetes the high school referees from around the region that work tireless throughout the season to officiate high school games at ever level. This marks the 100th year of the organization.

There were several awards given from among their ranks, including an achievement award to National Football League Super Bowl ref Jim Mello, the C. Howard Smith Award to former president Rob Hobby and the William McDonald Award to Don Werner.

Certificates of longevity were awarded to officials hitting milestone years in their careers — some have adjudicated high school football for as many as 50 seasons.

The Mark T. Crehan Award for Coach of the Year went to a grateful Lou Cicatelli, the longtime head coach from Revere. This year, the Patriots earned their first nine-win season since 1973 and would clinch sole possession of their first Northeastern Conference South crown in football with a victory over Winthrop on Thanksgiving morning.

Assistant sports editor of The Salem News, blanketing the North Shore with the best coverage you'll find. Football fiend, track guru, seam-head, goaltending aficionado, history buff, stat geek. Allons-Y. #StrikeOutALS

Recommended for you